Nikolaos Vagdoutis

Nikolaos Vagdoutis

Postdoctoral researcher

Department ​Département Droit
Adresse postale Weicker Building, Université du Luxembourg
4, rue Alphonse Weicker
L-2721 Luxembourg
Bureau sur le campus C222A
Téléphone (+352) 46 66 44 4637

Nikolas (Nikolaos) Vagdoutis is a postdoctoral researcher at the Department of Law. He works with Professor Joana Mendes in the project EMULEG, exploring the role of the European Central Bank in European Union law and politics. He is also currently teaching, together with Dr. Michel Erpelding, the “Global Constitutional Law II (Institutions)” course at undergraduate level and, together with Professor Joana Mendes, the seminar in Law and Political Economy for Ph.D. students (summer semester, academic year 2021-2022).

 Nikolas completed his undergraduate studies at the School of Law of the National and Kapodistrian University of Athens (Greece) and obtained an LL.M. from the LSE (UK). He holds a Ph.D. from the University of Glasgow (UK), which was awarded in 2018 (Ph.D. thesis title: “Hans Kelsen and Carl Schmitt in Weimar: a riddle of political constitutionalism”). Nikolas has taught at the Department of Political Science of the Democritus University of Thrace (as an adjunct lecturer) and at the School of Law of the University of Glasgow (as a graduate teaching assistant). He had also been a postdoctoral researcher at the School of Law of the Aristotle University of Thessaloniki (Greece).

 His research interests lie in legal theory, in political theory and in public and EU law (especially on the economic and monetary governance of the European Economic and Monetary Union).


Last updated on: lundi 28 mars 2022

powered by


See detailThe Material Constitution in Greek Constitutional Thought
Vagdoutis, Nikolaos

in Goldoni, Marco; Wilkinson, Michael (Eds.) The Cambridge Handbook on the Material Constitution (2023)

Top of Page


See detailΠλουραλισμός και δημοκρατία στο έργο των Σβώλου και Μάνεση.
Vagdoutis, Nikolaos

in Sotirelis, George; Kessopoulos, Alexandros (Eds.) Από τον Αλέξανδρο Σβώλο στον Αριστόβουλο Μάνεση. Η κοινή θεωρητική θεμελίωση του ελληνικού δημοκρατικού συνταγματισμού. (2022)

Top of Page


Top of Page