Page d'accueil // FDEF // Actualités // Top distinction for University’s Cassin moot court team

Top distinction for University’s Cassin moot court team

twitter linkedin facebook email this page
Publié le vendredi 08 avril 2016

The University of Luxembourg’s Cassin moot court team reached the second place in the 31st edition of the prestigious “Concours européen des droits de l'homme René Cassin". Team member Alexandre Sztulman won the "Prix d'éloquence" for the entire competition.

The Luxembourg team was one of the thirty teams selected to plead in the final rounds, which took place in Strasbourg between March 30 and April 1, 2016. The Cassin moot court competition is based on the European Convention on Human Rights and although a French speaking competition, several non-French speaking Universities from around the world take part every year.

The runner-up team is composed of Edoardo Tiberi (Luxembourg), Barbora Suneghova (Czech Republic) and Alexandre Sztulman (France) all master students in law at the Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance. Their coaches were Carola Sauer Rappe, a longstanding coach and PhD student at the Faculty and Maxime Lassalle, team member of the winning Luxembourg team in the 2014 Cassin moot court and PhD student at the Faculty. Prof. Jörg Gerkrath, head of the Doctoral School in Law served as the academic supervisor of the team.

The Luxembourg team competed successfully against the University Paris I Panthéon Sorbonne and the University of Strasbourg, making it to the final round against the University of La Réunion. The final pleadings took place in the Grand Chamber of the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR). The 19-member jury included several judges of the ECHR.

We congratulate the entire team for its great success and for their contribution in making moot court competitions a great tradition at the University of Luxembourg’s Faculty of Law, Economics and Finance.

The Faculty's moot court activities are carried out in partnership with the Luxembourg office of global law firm Clifford Chance. We would like to take this opportunity to thank their team for their continued support.